Reps. Quigley, Issa, and 17 Others Form ‘Congressional Transparency Caucus’


Representatives Mike Quigley and Darrell Issa announced the creation of the bipartisan “Congressional Transparency Caucus” today. This historic move provides an exciting new way for Members of Congress to work together in support of open government initiatives.

In addition to supporting the across-the-aisle collaboration, the Caucus will allow representatives to deepen their expertise on transparency matters and engage the American public through education, legislation, and oversight. The Sunlight Foundation has long been hoping for this kind of forum to emerge, and applauds Rep. Quigley, Issa, and the 18 (formerly 17) other charter members of this caucus for taking this important step.

In a similar vein, the Sunlight Foundation is pleased to announce that we are creating the Advisory Committee on Transparency. The Advisory Committee shares the underlying goals of the Congressional Transparency Caucus and will work to educate Congress and the public about transparency-related issues.

We hope to involve public interest organizations, businesses, and private citizens in the important work of improving government transparency. It is important to note that the Advisory Committee, unlike the Congressional Transparency Caucus, is not part of government.

To learn more about the principles underlying the Congressional Transparency Caucus, click here (PDF).

To read the “Dear Colleague” letter introducing the Congressional Transparency Caucus, click here (PDF).

The members of the Congressional Transparency Caucus (as of March 25, 2010) are: Melissa Bean (D-IL), Jason Chaffetz (R-UT), Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), Vern Ehlers (R-MI), Bill Foster (D-IL), Steve Israel (D-NY), Darrel Issa (R-CA), Walter B. Jones (R-NC), Jim Jordan (R-OH), Mark Kirk (R-IL), Doug Lamborn (R-CO), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO), Patrick McHenry (R-NC), Walt Minnick (D-ID), Jared Polis (D-CO), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Tim Ryan (D-OH), Aaron Schock (R-IL), Mark Souder (R-IN), and Jackie Speier (D-CA).

For more information about the Advisory Committee on Transparency, please contact Daniel Schuman.