Transparency Caucus Kick-Off Event Today


The 26-member strong Congressional Transparency Caucus will kick off its inaugural event today at 1pm on Capitol Hill. The bi-partisan caucus, co-chaired by Reps. Quigley (D-Ill.) and Issa (R-Ca.), is an exciting new forum for Members of Congress to work together in support of open, transparent, and accountable government.

The event will feature speeches by Reps. Quigley and Issa, as well as other members of the caucus. Sunlight’s Policy Director, John Wonderlich, will also make remarks. Afterward, I will lead a panel discussion on the future of government transparency that includes Scott Amey from the Project on Government Oversight, Jerry Brito from the Mercatus Center at George Mason University, and Patrice McDermott of

Sunlight has formed the Advisory Committee on Transparency, which will support the mission of the Transparency Caucus. Later on today, we will unveil the website, which contains basic information about the Advisory Committee. We’re still fleshing out the Advisory Committee, and invite your ideas, comments, and expressions of interest at act(at)

Today’s Congressional Transparency Caucus event is open to the public, and will take place in room 2203 of the Rayburn House Office Building.

Here is a list of the Caucus membership as of this morning: Melissa Bean, Bruce Braley, Jason Chaffetz, Lloyd Doggett, Vernon Ehlers, Bill Foster, Eleanor Holmes-Norton, Steve Israel, Darrel Issa, Walter Jones, Jim Jordan, Mark Kirk, Doug Lamborn, Blaine Leutkemeyer, Daniel Lipinski, Dave Loebsack, Patrick McHenry, Walt Minnick, Scott Murphy, Jared Polis, Mike Quigley, Tim Ryan, Aaron Schock, Mark Souder, Jackie Speier, Greg Walder.