House passes bill to ban ‘state sponsors of terrorism’ from lobbying


The House of Representatives passed a bill earlier this month that would prohibit countries deemed “state sponsors of terrorism” by the U.S. State Department from hiring lobbyists in the United States.

This would effect four countries: Cuba, Iran, Sudan and Syria.

None of these countries currently employ lobbyists in Washington and only Sudan and Syria have active embassies. Cuba and Iran both operate Interest Sections–the Iranian Interest Section is located inside of the Pakistani consulate–in lieu of embassies.

To search lobbying reports by foreign governments, movements and foreign organizations check out, a project of ProPublica and the Sunlight Foundation.