Senate rejects earmark ban 39-56


In a fairly unsurprising vote, the Senate just rejected a two year ban on earmarks by a 39-56 vote. While the vote largely went down party lines, eightseven Republicans voted against the ban and seven Democrats voted for it.

Here are the Republicans voting no:

Bob Bennett (R-UT) – defeated for reelection, Appropriations Committee
Thad Cochran (R-MS) – Ranking Member, Appropriations Committee
Susan Collins (R-ME) – Appropriations Committee
James Inhofe (R-OK)
Richard Lugar (R-IN)
Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) – Appropriations Committee
Richard Shelby (R-AL) – Appropriations Committee
George Voinovich (R-OH) – retiring, Appropriations Committee

Here are the Democrats voting yes:

Evan Bayh (D-IN) – retiring
Michael Bennet (D-CO) – freshman
Russ Feingold (D-WI) – defeated for reelection
Claire McCaskill (D-MO) – freshman, up for reelection in 2012
Bill Nelson (D-FL) – up for reelection in 2012
Mark Udall (D-CO) – freshman
Mark Warner (D-VA) – freshman

The trends here for those not voting the party line are clear. Republicans voting no are largely Appropriations Committee members and Democrats voting yes are largely first term members.

Update: We’ll be hosting a Twitter chat tomorrow at 3 PM to discuss issues around earmarks, the earmark ban and earmark transparency. Just follow @SunFoundation or track the #sunchat hashtag.